6 common questions people ask someone on bed rest, Answered

image

I’ve been on bed rest for two months now. I’ve compiled a list of common phrases or questions I’ve heard since being on bed rest that I’d like to respond to, because I am just in a poopy sassy mood right now:

1. It must be nice to be able to just relax and do nothing.

Nope not for me. I have a very active mind, I like to stay productive. I had started working toward some goals relating to a cleaner more organized home that I’d put into action a few days before being put on bed rest. I wanted to dejunk and organize belongings that I had not been able to do because of work and school.

I said goodbye to all those plans. It’s not easy being at home and refraining from cleaning when you see the need.

It’s really discouraging to be at home all day and not feel like you accomplish anything. Overtime I isolate more and more because I don’t want to be asked questions. I don’t do much all day, I don’t have much to contribute to conversations right now. I feel achy and sick most days.

It’s hard to relax when others are worried about you overdoing things. It’s hard to relax when your dogs need more exercise and keep whining and you can’t help them (this is happening right now with Vinny).

If that sounds nice to you, please take my place.

2. Just enjoy the time to prepare because everything will change when the baby comes.

It’s hard to prepare when you are limited on physical activity.

I get that seasoned parents want to give you advice of the “everything gets much harder when the baby comes”, I hear it, my husband hears it. Why do we do that?

So not encouraging.

I look forward to the changes of a having a newborn. Like, taking her on walks with the dogs (I made sure my stroller had an under carriage that could hold the dogs).

Holding and bonding with my baby. Not having a headache everyday. Not being nauseas anymore. Not retaining water. Having my blood pressure return to normal.

Oh, that’s not what you are warning me about? You are talking about the sleepless nights? The time and energy that will go into taking care of a newborn?

Already have sleepless nights, already am exhausted mentally, emotionally and physically.

3. Are you totally bored?

Pretty much. I do try and change up the things I do with my time, but you can only crochet, read and watch so much TV. Β If I didn’t have my dogs I would be pretty depressed.

4. What do you do with your time? I would go crazy

Cuddle my dogs. Eat. Read. Crochet. Watch Amazon Prime, TV, Netflix, etc.

Go to the Doctor too much πŸ™‚

pretty much I am going crazy

5. How are you feeling?

Fake answer: Fine. Pretty Good.

Real Answer: Exhausted physically, emotionally and mentally.

I don’t like to give the real answer because I don’t want people to try and further console me. I am mostly fine. But I mostly feel like crap everyday, it’s just a fact. Not looking for sympathy.

6. Can I do anything for you?

  • Take my dogs on a walk
  • Come help me fold my laundry and tidy my room, because after this last hospital vinsit, I really don’t have the energy anymore
  • Take my dogs on a walk
  • Bring me Cadbury eggs
  • Find someone who can do lashes at my house πŸ™‚
  • Find me a dentist who takes Medicaid (because it’s cadbury egg season and I haven’t been to a dentist in almost Β year)
  • Give me a ride to the 4-5 doctor appointments I will have next week so my husband can focus on school
  • Help me organize and get rid of stuff from our move
  • Help me finish getting things prepped for the baby
  • Don’t ask me how I am feeling
  • Scalp massage
  • Massage

Ok that’s all people. Thanks for putting up with my bad mood πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “6 common questions people ask someone on bed rest, Answered”

  1. Ahh! I’m so sorry I never made it down to see you! I was feeling super duper lazy when I was there and most of the time I just watched my kids destroy my mom’s house πŸ™‚ but that is a lame-o excuse for being a bad friend! Bedrest sounds sucky, and I’m really sorry that you have to do it! I have super mad respect for you for sticking to it for the baby! And don’t stress about getting stuff ready for baby, as long as you have a carseat to get them home, something to diaper them in, something to keep them warm (clothes or blanket) then you are set! I always worried that I wasn’t ‘ready’ for Natalie, but in my experience, babies just fit smoothly into your little family and it won’t be long before you can’t remember what it was like without them! Hang in there Mindy!

  2. Sigh… yes I know this all too well. Your condition was much more extreme than mine so I would never complain to you! I love the photos of your sweet babe on Instagram. Can’t wait for my little man to get here, too!
    I’m curious though – what are the after effects of preclampsia once you’ve delivered?

    1. The after effects were not as bad as they were the first pregnancy. My blood pressure stays elevated for some time, and I feel like my body still retains water. But for the most part, preeclampsia gets “cured” by delivering the baby. That is why its such a crazy thing, especially for me since I have no history of high blood pressure (which is one reason people develop preeclampsia), nor do I have a history of it in my family.

Leave a Reply

